Where Have You Been All My Life?

Sorry all, I’ve been so busy lately with some big projects coming up! (More to be revealed soon!) As well as with the school holidays here in New Zealand, working to put together things I can call “art” for upcoming art festivals and general mum duties.

On top of everything I’ve also been really sick, but until I get a full diagnosis I’m not going to go into too much detail, (still in the process of going through different testing procedures, etc.) However as an excuse for my lack of writing and enthusiasm lately, I feel my followers deserve an explanation of some sort! All you need to know for now is that for now I’m extremely exhausted. Like, all the time.

So yeah, things have been a bit tricky for me lately, but at the same time, I totally feel this is my year! Honestly, blessings upon blessings have been falling at my doorstep. Incredible opportunities have arisen, which, needless to say, I jumped at! And I have made some amazing friendships along my way too. The kind of friends you meet and just sorta “click” with. Like “Hey, you’re cool. Why are you not in my life yet?” sort of friendships. It’s been awesome.

I’ve been designing a few tattoos and products, and I’ve been brainstorming like crazy. I’ve been planning big surprises, too! I haven’t at all forgotten about my blog, in fact it has been one of my main focuses lately! I hope to transform you crazy beast into something fantastic and beautiful and mind- blowing. I’m going to change the world. With your help. So hold on to your knickers, Baby, this is about to get epic.

…Once I get out of bed.

So basically I’m writing to let you know that no, I haven’t forgotten you. Yes, I have at least a dozen half- written posts sitting in my “draft” folder, and so this is basically just a catch- up on what I’ve been up to recently. If anyone cares.

Also I would love to thank the random people who I have bumped into in the street, expressing their admiration for my blog! Your appreciation, and the fact that people actually read this stuff, means so much to me. Y’all are the bees knees.

What I’ve been reading 

Okay so in this house, as I think I’ve mentioned previously, we don’t watch TV. Yep, we’re that strange. Most of the time we’ll watch a film or documentary online when we feel like zoning out and staring at a screen, but when we’re not busy impersonating zombies we read books. (Those old fashioned multi-paged paper things with tonnes of words on ’em.) I attended a workshop on “reading with your kids” and it was seriously an eye- opening experience. The importance of your kids reading, being read to, or even just them having that familiarity of seeing a book in mum or dad’s hands as a normal part of their day is something we need to push, in my opinion. So we read aloud to each other or to the boys. It’s old school. It’s romantic. I just love it. At the moment Big Shot is reading me a book which is technically a young adult fiction novel, but it takes me back to my younger days as this was always one of my favorites as a teen. Noughts and Crosses by Malorie Blackman is such a beautiful and powerful story. It challenges a lot of heavy topics including suicide and racism, but in such a way that you are literally unable to finish a chapter without reading just that liiiiittle bit more. Amazing. Best of all- it’s the first book in a trilogy! Oh, I do hope they bring a film out, soon!

What I’ve been eating 

Herbs. I feel like my food has been so bland lately, and adding just a sprinkle of basil or chives to a dish has opened up a whole new world of sensation. I know, I’m not as creative in the kitchen as I am in my studio, but man have I been neglecting my taste buds. Also a tonne of vitamin tablets and nutriblast smoothies for energy. (Seriously though, I don’t care what anyone says, the infomercials don’t lie- NutriBlast is amazing and I was not even paid to say that.)

What I’ve been listening to

Ever since I met Big Shot he’s been telling me I should listen to Xavier Rudd. For some reason I’d never gotten around to it. But then my cousin also suggested it. And someone else mentioned him. And suddenly I felt pressured and gave in eventually. …Boy, I wish I’d discovered him sooner! His music is amazing! Now I know what the fuss was about. Oh, also I’ve been jamming Toots and the Maytals. ‘Coz nothing is better to vacuum the house in your undies to than Toots and the Maytals.

So that’s been me this week. Not too exciting, but like I said, I haven’t much time. Hope you lovelies are all having a wonderful evening. Or morning, or afternoon. Wherever you happen to be reading from. I am so excited to share my big news with you! Not long now ’til the big reveal! As always, much love. 11150589_10200502982734168_7877215826609111818_n

signature

2 thoughts on “Where Have You Been All My Life?

Leave a Reply

